Bayley McCann

Bayley McCann selected in Northern Ireland under 18 squad to face Manchester United.

Peterborough United youngster Bayley McCann has been named in the Northern Ireland under 18 squad for two games against Manchester United next week as part of this year’s SuperCupNI tournament.

The games, in Coleraine and Ballymena, are being billed as elite challenge matches and Northern Ireland U19s/U17s boss Gerard Lyttle says they will provide an opportunity for his U18 players to test themselves against a top-class team.

Lyttle has chosen a 21-strong panel for the matches at Coleraine Showgrounds (Monday 25 July, 7.30pm kick-off) and Ballymena Showgrounds (Wednesday 27 July, 7.30pm start).  His squad bridges the gap between Northern Ireland’s U19 and U17 teams – and mainly consists of players who have previously represented Northern Ireland at U17 level.

Lyttle said: “It’s important to keep continuity between the U17s and U19s. Several players who are with clubs in England and Scotland have just completed pre-season so they have not been included.  However, my squads usually feature lots of players from NIFL Premiership and League of Ireland clubs so I see this as an opportunity for players based here to once again show what they can do.  

“It will be a massive test for the boys against such highly rated opposition. However, I have no doubt the players will rise to the occasion.  There are U19 Euro qualifiers this autumn and I am sure the players in this squad will want to be part of that squad as well.”

The Northern Ireland boss is a former Posh player and McCann, who is part of the Posh under 18 set-up is hopeful of featuring against the Red Devils.  

Northern Ireland U18s squad for SuperCupNI:

Goalkeepers – Pierce Charles (Sheffield Wednesday), Kai McClean (Celtic).

Defenders – Conor Barr, Daithi McCallion, Darragh McCloskey (all Derry City), Ordhan McCart and Sean Brown (both Larne), Reece Jordan (Portadown), Bayley McCann (Peterborough United).

Midfielders – Jack Patterson (Everton), Lewis Trickett (Accrington Stanley), Caolan Donnelly (Larne), Rio Morgan (Ipswich Town), Aaron Wightman (Glentoran), Sam Glenfield (Fleetwood Town), Eoin Kenny (Dundalk).

Forwards - Conor Scannell (Glenavon), Leon Boyd (Linfield), Reece Evans (Leicester City), Shea Brennan (Larne), Luca Doherty (Derry City).