Vanishing Spray Set To Appear In Johnstone's Paint Trophy

The Football League is to trial the use of Vanishing Spray, as used by match officials at the recent World Cup in Brazil, in this season’s Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

Football League Chief Executive, Shaun Harvey, said: “Having seen it used in the recent World Cup, the introduction of Vanishing Spray into the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy will give us the opportunity to observe its use in domestic football so that we can better understand its effect on the flow of the game.  It will also give us the ability to gauge the opinions of players, managers, referees and fans.”

The League will not be using Vanishing Spray in any matches played in the Sky Bet Football League or Capital One Cup during 2014/15, but will consider its introduction at the end of the current campaign.
Meanwhile, the draw for Round One of this season’s competition will take place on Saturday, August 16.

As in previous seasons, the first round will see clubs divided into regional groupings with 16 clubs being awarded byes into Round Two.

Regional Groups:

Northern Section – West
Accrington Stanley
Carlisle United
Crewe Alexandra
Fleetwood Town
Preston North End
Shrewsbury Town   

Northern Section – East
Bradford City
Mansfield Town
Notts County
Oldham Athletic
Scunthorpe United
York City

Southern Section – West
Cheltenham Town
Coventry City
Newport County
Oxford United
Swindon Town
Wycombe Wanderers
Yeovil Town   

Southern Section – East
AFC Wimbledon
Cambridge United
Crawley Town
Leyton Orient
Peterborough United
Southend United

The following clubs will received byes:

Northern Section
Port Vale
Tranmere Rovers
Burton Albion
Doncaster Rovers
Hartlepool United
Sheffield United   

Southern Section
Bristol City
Exeter City
Northampton Town
Plymouth Argyle
Colchester United
Dagenham & Redbridge
Luton Town
Milton Keynes Dons