Posh Women

Posh Women suffer defeat to the Cobblers on Thursday evening.

Peterborough United Women fell to a 2-1 defeat against local rivals Northampton Town Women at the Victoria Mill Ground on Thursday evening in FA Women’s National League Division One Midlands action.

The Cobblers carved out their first opportunity on just two minutes as Abbie Brewin’s effort from inside the box went just wide of the post after the ball was played out to her by Lucy Farrow. Dan Lawlor’s side were close to breaking the deadlock on nine minutes as Jess Evans headed effort from Rachel Lawrence’s corner was cleared off the line by Farrow.

However, it was the Cobblers who opened the scoring on 17 minutes as Zoe Boote’s free-kick was met by Vicky Barrett and her looping header found the back of the net. 

After a back-and-forth period from both sides, the Cobblers doubled their lead on 31 minutes as Jade Bell’s turn of pace got her away from Lucie Mugridge before slotting her left-footed effort past Corry.

The Cobblers looked to further extend their advantage just before the break as Sara Wait saw her header cleared off the line following Farrow’s corner. Lawlor made two changes at the break as Megan Lawlor and Stacey McConville replaced Nicole Hendrick and Rachel Lawrence.

On 53 minutes, defender Evie Driscoll-King advanced down the right-hand side, but her low cross just evaded the on-rushing Keir Perkins at the back-post. The forward managed to pull a goal back for Posh on the hour mark as Perkins’ pressure saw her nick the ball off the defender, she advanced towards the edge of the box before sending a lofted effort over the keeper and into the back of the net.

Posh continued to search for an equaliser in the final 20 minutes as Lawlor couldn’t connect with Perkins’ in-swinging cross from the left-hand side. On 78 minutes, Lawlor’s corner found the head of Stacey McConville, but her effort was into the hands of the keeper. 

Posh XI: Corry, Connor, Evans, Mugridge, Perkins, Steward, Lawrence (McConville, 46mins), Driscoll, Driscoll-King, Kirk, Hendrick (Lawlor, 46mins).

Subs Not Used: Dean, Osker.

Written by Charlie Jiggins.

Photo Credit: @rubyredphoto