Posh held to their first 0-0 draw since the 2009-2010 campaign, ironically by the same opponents.

Peterborough United were held to a goal-less draw for the first time since the Championship fixture against Ipswich Town at Portman Road back in season 2009-2010.

After a bright opening, Posh created the first shooting opportunity on the nine minute park as patient football from Tomlin and McCann led to Tommy Rowe firing a left-foot shot, which found the side netting.

Lee Tomlin squandered a fine opportunity to find the breakthrough on the quarter hour mark after a cushioned ball through from Swanson, but he dragged his left-foot shot wide of the target.

On 21 minutes, Danny Swanson was cautioned for a late tackle on Hewitt. On 26 minutes, Nouble smacked an effort from range against the outside of the post as Ipswich pressed.

Frank Nouble was denied a goal on 32 minutes after cutting inside, his low curler was superbly pushed around the post by goalkeeper Olejnik. Mendez-Laing was cautioned for a late tackle on 35 minutes.

Neither side made any changes at the break and moments after the re-start, Posh were inches away from making it 1-0 as Swanson rolled a shot just past the post via a deflection after good work from Nathaniel Mendez-Laing.

Olejnik produced a stunning one-handed stop to prevent McGoldrick's header from finding the top corner as the Tractor Boys continued to dominate the early exchanges of the second period.

Rowe was denied by a routine stop from Henderson after the left-back let fly from 20-yards on the wet surface. Darren Ferguson made a triple substitution on the 69 minute mark with Tyrone Barnett, Joe Newell and Kgosi Nthle introduced.

Substitute Tyrone Barnett met a Little cross on 76 minutes, but his powerful header went wide of the target. Gayle volleyed wide after good approach work from Tommy Rowe on 80 minutes.

Mclean was denied by Olejnik on 86 minutes after a poor header from Zakuani was capitalised on by the former Posh striker. Tomlin was denied by Henderson after good approach play from Barnett and Rowe.

Final Score: Posh 0-0 Ipswich Town

Posh: Olejnik, Zakuani, Bostwick, Swanson (sub Barnett 69min), Tomlin, McCann (sub Ntlhe 69min), Rowe, Little, Payne, Gayle, Mendez-Laing (sub Newell 69min). Unused subs: Day, Alcock, Brisley, Ferdinand.

Ipswich: Henderson, Hewitt, Cresswell, Chambers, N'Daw, McGoldrick, Drury (sub Emmanuel-Thomas 81min), Tabb, Hyam, Smith, Nouble (sub Mclean 70min). Unused ubs: Loach, Kisnorbo, Edwards, Mings, Murphy.

Attendance: 9,367 (2,611 Ipswich fans)